Venus Riding a Satyr

1602-08

QUADE VAN RAVESTEYN, Dirck de

(1565-1620)

Oil on canvas, 186 x 116 cm
Musées Royaux des Beaux-Arts, Brussels

About ubu507

memory documentation and manipulation
This entry was posted in art, Goddess, may contain nudity, Mythology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Venus Riding a Satyr

  1. Oh my, I don’ believe it. You featured the painting I have to do a presentation about tomorrow. OMG.

    • ubu507 says:

      Yeah, I saw your entry on it! Obviously, I rather like it, even tough I think you were complaining that it was ugly! Will your presentation be simply about the visuals or include philosophy, which I think is lurking around somewhere?

      • It was about the painter, the history of the painting, the visuals AND the philosophy… I can only hope it was good enough, so I’ll have passed at least that exam…
        It’s not my favorite painting indeed… It’s slightly prettier in real life than on most pictures though, the first pic of it I laid eyes on made it seem like a real eyesore…

Leave a Reply

