Fall by Colin McAdam

I ordered Fall for myself from my book rep because I’m a sucker for prep school stories, but it turned out to be one of those "literary" mysteries that fail at both ends of the hybrid, and it literally gave me a headache just to finish its gimmicky, pretentious, inconclusive ass. I could go on and one (like the author did), but there’s no percentage in flogging the obviously stillborn, is there?

Still, even the most obtuse literary gent seems to be able to come up with a few memorable sentences, and I share Colin’s best with you, gentle reader:

 

In Canada you can’t go out without shoes.

There’s a million mysteries and the ground’s electric I swear.

There’s peace there in her palm and we won’t have to talk.

She snots a lot when she cries.

I don’t know what to say so I say Fuck.

About ubu507

memory documentation and manipulation
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall by Colin McAdam

  1. Nigel says:

    I have that same problem when I don’t know what to say.

Leave a Reply

